Fire Fighting Medal of Honor Committee

Board and Commission Details

Contact Name

Robin Sudduth

Contact Title

Administrative Assistant II, State Fire Marshal

Contact Phone


Contact E-Mail


The Committee is responsible for developing an annual award program to recognize fire fighters who were killed, seriously hurt, or displayed exceptional bravery or heroism in the line of duty; working with fire-fighting organizations in state to designing, develop, and procure a Fire Fighting Medal of Honor; selecting an appropriate date or occasion for presentation


Fire Chiefs - 2 years; Other appointed positions – 1 year

Senate Confirmation





10 members: 8 appointed by Governor: 3 fire chiefs from other than Chicago (Chief); 3 representatives of statewide fire-fighter organization (FFO); 2 retired IL fire fighters (Retired FF); State Fire Marshal; Chief, Chicago Fire Department.


20 ILCS 3985/3001

Member Names

Name Member Expiration Member Since Affiliation Appointed By Position Title County
Kenny, Tracy 08/31/2023 02/25/2020 Governor Member, Fire Chief Cook
Welle, Richard 08/31/2022 03/19/2021 Governor Member, Retired Firefighter Madison
Coburn Jr., John 08/31/2022 03/19/2021 Governor Member, Representative of a firefighter organization Cook
Fortuna, Daniel 08/31/2018 01/01/2005 Governor Member, Representative of a firefighter organization Cook
Clemens, Tim 08/31/2019 02/01/1997 Governor Chair, Retired Firefighter Cook
Freeman, Thomas 08/13/2019 10/01/2008 Governor Member, Fire Chief DuPage
Grady, James 08/13/2018 12/01/1999 Governor Member, Representative of a fire fighter organization Will
Nance-Holt, Annette Statute Chief of the Chicago Fire Department
Rivera, James A Statute Ex-Officio
Smith, Mickil 08/31/2023 05/02/2022 Governor Member, Fire Chief Adams