Teachers' Retirement System Board of Trustees

Board and Commission Details

Contact Name

Stan Rupnik

Contact Title

Executive Director and Chief Investment Officer

Contact E-Mail



The Board administers Teachers’ Retirement System that provides retirement annuities and other benefits for teachers and beneficiaries.


4 years

Senate Confirmation


Party Affiliation



Residents and taxpayers in territory covered by system who are interested in public school welfare and experienced and competent in financial and business management – can be resident of Cook County, but not the City of Chicago




15 trustees: - 7 trustees appointed by the Governor, who are not members of the system, who shall not hold an elected state office; - 5 trustees who are active participants, who are teachers, elected by active participants who are teachers; and - 2 annuitant trustees elected by annuitants; - Superintendent of Education.


Appointed by the Governor from among the trustees


40 ILCS 5/16‑163

Member Names

Name Member Expiration Member Since Affiliation Appointed By Position Title County
Hirshman, Andrew 07/14/2023 07/15/2015 Statute Member, Teacher Cook
Pfeiffer, Larry 07/14/2021 07/15/2017 Statute Member, Annuitant Macoupin
Peronto, Fred 07/14/2021 07/15/2017 Statute Member, Teacher DuPage
Byas, Marsha 07/14/2023 07/15/2019 Statute Vice President Williamson
Blomquist, Joseph 07/14/2025 07/15/2021 Statute Teacher Kane
Sanders, Tony Statute Member
Miller, David 07/14/2024 08/09/2019 Governor Member Cook
Blackburn, Kevin 07/14/2024 09/14/2021 Governor Member
Mena, Maureen 07/14/2026 04/02/2019 Governor Member Will
Hunt, Matthew 07/14/2026 06/21/2019 Governor Chair Will
Goetz, MIchael 07/14/2024 06/10/2022 Governor Member
Strand, Doug 07/14/2023 07/15/2019 Statute Member, Annuitant Rock Island
VACANT 07/14/2022 Governor Member
Jazo-Harris, Mia 02/24/2026 07/15/2020 Governor Member McLean
Anderson, Beth 07/14/2023 07/15/2020 Statute Member, Teacher Iroquois