Smart Grid Advisory Council

Board and Commission Details


(1) Serve as an advisor to participating utilities subject to this Section and in the manner described in this Section, and the recommendations provided by the Council, although non-binding, shall be considered by the utilities. (2) Serve as trustees of the trust or foundation established pursuant to Section 16-108.7 of this Act with the duties enumerated thereunder.



Senate Confirmation



See composition




9 total voting members with each member possessing either technical, business or consumer expertise in Smart Grid issues 5 appointed by the Governor 1 each appointed by Speaker of the House, Minority Leader of the House, President of the Senate, and Minority Leader of the Senate. Of the Governor's 5 appointments: (i) at least one must represent a non-profit membership organization whose mission is to cultivate innovation and technology-based economic development in Illinois by fostering public-private partnerships to develop and execute research and development projects, advocating for funding for research and development initiatives, and collaborating with public and private partners to attract and retain research and development resources and talent in Illinois; (ii) at least one must represent a non-profit public body corporate and politic created by law that has a duty to represent and protect residential utility consumers in Illinois; (iii) at least one must represent a membership organization that represents the interests of individuals and companies that own, operate, manage, and service commercial buildings in a municipality with a population of 1,000,000 or more inhabitants; and (iv) at least one must represent an alternative retail electric supplier that has obtained a certificate of service authority pursuant to Section 16-115 of this Act and that is not an affiliate of a participating utility prior to one year after the effective date of this amendatory Act of the 97th General Assembly. The Governor shall designate one of the members of the Council to serve as chairman, and that person shall serve as the chairman at the pleasure of the Governor. The members shall not be compensated for serving on the Smart Grid Advisory Council.


220 ILCS 5/16-108.6

Member Names

Name Member Expiration Member Since Affiliation Appointed By Position Title County
Clifford, Megan 04/05/2021 House Minority Leader Member Cook
Zolnierek, James 03/03/2020 Governor Member Sangamon
Munsch, Kristin 06/28/2012 Governor Member Cook
VACANT Governor Member
VACANT Governor Chair, Member
Peters, Mark Ph.D. Senate Minority Leader Member
Reilly, Brendan 08/23/2013 Senate President Member Cook
Laufenberg, Mark 12/12/2011 Speaker of the House Member
VACANT Governor Member