Human Rights Commission

Board and Commission Details

Contact Name

Tracey Fleming

Contact Title

Executive Director

Contact E-Mail


The Commission adjudicates charges of civil rights violations in employment, housing, public accommodations and financial credit filed with Department of Human Rights.


Of the members first appointed, 4 shall be appointed for a term to expire on the third Monday of January 2021, and 3 (including the Chairperson) shall be appointed for a term to expire on the third Monday of January 2023. Thereafter, each member shall serve for a term of 4 years and until his or her successor is appointed and qualified.

Senate Confirmation


Party Affiliation

No more than 4 from same political party.


Commissioners must meet one of the following qualifications: 1) Licensed to practice law in the State of Illinois; 2) At least 3 years of experience as a hearing officer at the Human Rights Commission; or 3) At least 4 years of professional experience working for or dealing with individuals or corporations affected by this Act or similar laws in other jurisdictions, including but not limited to, experience with a civil rights advocacy group, a fair housing group, a community organization, a trade association, a union, a law firm, a legal aid organization, an employer's human resources department, an employment discrimination consulting firm, a community affairs organization, or a municipal human relations agency.


Chairman, $141,059 per year; Members, $134,288 per year


7 appointed by Governor


Designated by the Governor


775 ILCS 5/8-101

Member Names

Name Member Expiration Member Since Affiliation Appointed By Position Title County
Coulson, Elizabeth 01/18/2025 01/29/2021 Republican Governor Commissioner Cook
Gordon, Demoya 01/16/2025 09/05/2022 Democrat Governor Commissioner Sangamon
Glenn, Janice 01/18/2025 02/05/2021 Republican Governor Commissioner Cook
VACANT 01/16/2027 Governor Commissioner
Collins, Jacqueline 01/16/2027 04/07/2023 Democrat Governor Commissioner Cook
Kouri, Stephen 01/16/2025 04/15/2021 Republican Governor Commissioner Peoria
Noriega, Mona 01/16/2027 06/02/2021 Democrat Governor Chair Cook