Lead Safe Housing Advisory Council

Board and Commission Details

Contact Name

Kert McAfee

Contact Phone


Contact E-Mail



The council advises the Department on lead poisoning prevention activities. The council will develop handbooks and training for property owners and tenants explaining the Standards and State and federal requirements for lead-safe housing.


Not specified.

Senate Confirmation



Reimbursed for expenses


Director, Illinois Housing Development Authority Director, Environmental Protection Agency Directors of public health departments of counties identified by the Department of Public Health that contain communities with a concentration of high-risk, lead contaminated properties At least 12 members appointed by the Governor -- 1 representative from the Illinois Association of Realtors -- 1 representative from the insurance industry -- 2 pediatricians or other physicians with knowledge of lead-paint poisoning -- 2 representatives from the private-sector, lead abatement industry who are licensed in Illinois as a lead an abatement contractor, lead abatement supervisor, lead abatement worker, lead inspector, or lead risk assessor. -- 2 representatives from community based organizations with a concentration of high risk lead contaminated properties -- At least 3 lead-safe housing advocates including the parent of a lead-poisoned child, a representative from a child advocacy organization, and a representative from a tenant housing organization -- 1 representative from the Illinois paint and coatings industry Director, Public Health and Chair of the Illinois Lead Safe Housing Task Force serving as Chairs.


410 ILCS 45/11.05

Member Names

Name Member Expiration Member Since Affiliation Appointed By Position Title County
VACANT Statute Ex-Officio, Chicago Department of Public Health
VACANT Governor Member Cook
VACANT Governor Member Cook
Zimmerman, Amy 01/31/2005 Governor Member Cook
Sullinger, Connie Statute Ex-Officio, EPA
VACANT Statute Ex-Officio, Kane County Health Department Kane
VACANT Statute Ex-Officio, Winnebago County Public Health Department Winnebago
VACANT Statute Ex-Officio, Peoria City/County Health Department
VACANT Governor Member Cook
Porter-Thomas, Latrice Statute Ex-Officio, Cook County Department of Public Health Cook
Scobey, Michael 07/19/2004 Governor Member Cook
Evens, Anne Statute Ex-Officio, Elevate Energy
Bartlett, John 08/09/2004 Governor Member Cook
VACANT Governor Member Cook
VACANT Statute Ex-Officio, Executive Director, IHDA
Weinberg, Anita Statute Chair, Chair, Illinois Lead Safe Housing Task Force
Binns, Helen 08/09/2004 Governor Member Cook
Bodley, Claudia 07/19/2004 Governor Member Cook
VACANT Governor Member Kane
VACANT Governor Member
VACANT Governor Member Cook
Peneff, Nicholas 08/09/2004 Governor Member Winnebago
VACANT Statute Chair, DPH