Joliet Regional Port District Board

Board and Commission Details

Contact Name

Chris Lawson; Kevin Bixenmann

Contact Title

Director of Aviation;Treasurer & Business Manager

Contact Phone

(815) 838-9497 x114; 814-838-9497 x121

Contact E-Mail;


The Board governs the port district located in the Will County townships of DuPage, Lockport, Joliet, Troy, and Channahon; promotes industrial, commercial, and transportation activities; constructs, operates or leases, and maintains port and terminal facilities; establishes and maintains public airports and airport facilities.


6 years (beginning June 1 of staggered years), and until successor is appointed and qualified

Senate Confirmation


Party Affiliation

No more than 2 from the same political party (see composition below)


Residents of Will County and no more than 2 from the same political party. Members appointed by Governor must reside outside Joliet and Romeoville and those by Mayor must reside in Joliet. Those appointed by the Village of Romeoville must reside in Romeoville. No financial or property interest in District business.




10 members -3 appointed by Governor, no more than 2 from the same political party -3 appointed by Mayor of Joliet, no more than 2 from the same political party -3 members appointed by County Executive of Will County, with the advice and consent of the County Board -1 member appointed by President of the Village of Romeoville, with the advice and consent of the corporate authorities of the Village of Romeoville. Secretary, Treasure, general manager, ganeral attorney, and chief engineer, appointed by the board


Elected by the board


70 ILCS 1825/3

Member Names

Name Member Expiration Member Since Affiliation Appointed By Position Title County
Walden, Donald 06/01/2017 05/16/1995 Republican Mayor of Joliet Secretary, Member Will
Joseph Strong 06/01/2019 03/04/2013 Democrat Governor Member Will
Noak, John 06/01/2016 Village of Romeoville Member
Vera, Dan 06/01/2016 Democrat Will County Chair, Member
Kevish, Ronald 06/01/2018 01/01/2006 Democrat Will County Member Will
Silverman, David 06/01/2017 10/01/2000 Republican Governor Member, Channahon Will
Cox, Jason 06/01/2017 06/21/2011 Mayor of Joliet Member Will
Hill, David 06/01/2021 08/08/2016 Democrat Governor Member, Shorewood Will
Bixenmann, Steve 06/01/2017 01/20/2000 Democrat Mayor of Joliet Treasurer, Member Will
Klick, James H. 06/01/2014 Republican Will County Member Will