Judicial Inquiry Board

Board and Commission Details

Contact Name

Michael Deno

Contact Title

Executive Director and General Counsel

Contact Phone


Contact E-Mail



The Board conducts investigations and receives or initiatives complaints concerning a judge or associate judge as well as files and prosecutes complaints with the Courts Commission. The Board is an independent entity within the Judicial branch and is not subject to the Illinois Open Meetings Act.


4 years-Term goes from date of appointment, not previous expiration. No member may serve for more than 8 years.

Senate Confirmation


Party Affiliation

3 of Governor's appointments shall be lawyers, no more than 2 from the same political party, and 4 shall not be lawyers, no more than 2 from the same political party


No more than 2 of the lawyers and 2 of the public members shall be of the same political party


$200 per diem, plus expenses (Judges only receive expenses)


9 members -7 appointed by Governor -2 Circuit Judges, appointed by the Supreme Court


Elected by the Board


Illinois Constitution-Article VI, Section 15(b)-(d)

Member Names

Name Member Expiration Member Since Affiliation Appointed By Position Title County
Nash, Sean 10/08/2027 10/08/2019 Independent Governor Member, Lawyer Cook
Smith, Ruby 10/08/2027 10/08/2019 Independent Governor Public Member Cook
Sterba, David 12/10/2025 12/10/2017 Republican Governor Chair, Lawyer Cook
Quinn, Jonathan S. 12/28/2026 12/28/2022 Democrat Governor Member, Lawyer
Gomora, Hon. Paula A. 05/01/2023 05/01/2015 Supreme Court Vice Chair Circuit Judge Kane
Applegate, Megan 03/09/2026 03/09/2022 Independent Governor Public Member
Johnson, Elaine 03/09/2026 03/09/2022 Democrat Governor Public Member
VACANT Governor Public Member
Delgado, Hon. Kent 08/23/2023 05/13/2019 Supreme Court Member Circuit Judge