Heart of Illinois Regional Port District Board

Board and Commission Details

Contact Name

Dan Silverthorn

Contact Title

Executive Director, West Central Illinois Building and Construction Trades Council

Contact Phone


Contact E-Mail



This board is the governing and administrative body of the Heart of Illinois Regional Port District.


6 years, and until successor is appointed and qualified

Senate Confirmation



Members must be residents of a county whose territory in whole or in part, is embraced by the district and must be persons of recognized business ability. No member of the board or employee of the district shall have any private financial interest, profit, or benefit in any contract, work, or business of the district or in the sale or lease of any property to or from the district.




3 members appointed by the Governor - At least one must belong to a labor organization (as defined in Sec. 3 of the Workplace Literacy Act) 6 members appointed by the county board chairmen of the following counties: -Tazewell -Woodford -Peoria - Marshall - Mason - Fulton


Elected by Board


70 ILCS 1807

Member Names

Name Member Expiration Member Since Affiliation Appointed By Position Title County
Christ, William County Board Member Woodford
Svob,Terrance County Board Member Mason
Kowall,Kent County Board Member Fulton
Jensen, Elizabeth County Board Secretary, Member Peoria
Pobanz, Neil County Board Member Marshall
VACANT 06/01/2009 Governor Vice Chair, Member Tazewell
Silverthorn, Dan 06/01/2009 Governor Chair Labor Representative Peoria
Covington, Allen 06/01/2009 Governor Member, Treasurer Peoria
Kriegsman, Richard County Board Member Tazewell