Medical District, Mid-Illinois

Board and Commission Details

Contact Name

Abby Powell

Contact Phone


Contact E-Mail


To maintain the proper surroundings for a medical center and a related technology center in order to attract, stabilize, and retain within the District hospitals, clinics, research facilities, educational facilities, or other facilities permitted.


5 years, and until successor is appointed

Senate Confirmation





-11 members -4 appointed by Governor with advice & consent of Senate - 2 additional appointed by the Governor. These two must be residents of Cass, Christian, Logan, Macoupin, Mason, Menard, Montgomery, Morgan or Scott counties. -4 appointed by Mayor of Springfield with advice & consent of City Council -1 appointed by the Sangamon County Board Chairman with advice and consent of Sangamon County Board


70 ILCS 925/10

Member Names

Name Member Expiration Member Since Affiliation Appointed By Position Title County
Dooley, Tessica 07/30/2028 07/21/2023 Governor Member Sangamon
VACANT 10/31/2025 Mayor of Springfield Member Sangamon
Hurwitz, Joe 10/31/2025 11/15/2016 Mayor of Springfield Member, Secretary Sangamon
Vacant 06/30/2025 Governor Member
Croke, Ryan 10/31/2025 05/07/2019 Mayor of Springfield Member Sangamon
VACANT Sangamon County Board Member Sangamon
Zilm, Brian 06/30/2026 04/24/2023 Governor Member Macoupin
Austin, Erica 05/04/2021 05/01/2026 Mayor of Springfield Member, President Dr. Sangamon
Stremsterfer, John 06/30/2026 04/08/2021 Governor Member Sangamon
Gurnsey, Aaron 06/30/2027 04/08/2021 Governor Member Menard
Mazzotti, Jack 06/30/2027 01/01/2008 Governor Member, Vice President Christian