Plain Language Task Force, Illinois

Board and Commission Details

Contact Title

Office of the Governor


The mission of the Illinois Plain Language Task Force is to conduct a study on, and to propose legislative measures designed to realize: (1) the potential benefits of incorporating plain language in State government documents, statutes, and contracts into which the State enters; and (2) how plain language principles might be incorporated into the statutes governing contracts among private parties so as to provide additional protections to Illinois consumers, to reduce litigation between private parties over the meaning of contractual terms, and to foster judicial economy. Once all members have been appointed, the Task Force shall meet not less than once each quarter following the effective date of this Act to carry out the duties prescribed in this Act. An initial report delineating the Task Force's findings, conclusions, and recommendations shall be submitted to the Illinois General Assembly no later than May 31, 2019, unless such initial report has already been submitted to the General Assembly prior to the effective date of this amendatory Act of the 100th General Assembly. The report to the General Assembly shall be filed with the Clerk of the House of Representatives and the Secretary of the Senate in electronic form only, in the manner that the Clerk and the Secretary shall direct. The Task Force shall be guided in its discussions on the subject of plain language by the federal Plain Writing Act of 2010 and subsequent guidance documents, including, but not limited to, the Federal Plain Language Guidelines.

Senate Confirmation



Members shall serve without compensation.


The Illinois Plain Language Task Force shall be chaired by the Governor or his or her designee and shall consist of the following members: one member appointed by the Illinois Attorney General; one member appointed by the Senate President; one member appointed by the Minority Leader of the Senate; one member appointed by the Speaker of the House; one member appointed by the Minority Leader of the House; and 3 members appointed by the Governor. At the discretion of the chair, additional individuals may participate as non-voting members in the meetings of the Task Force


The Governor or his or her designee.


20 ILCS 4090/15

Member Names

Name Member Expiration Member Since Affiliation Appointed By Position Title County
Franks, Jack 02/10/2010 Speaker of the House Member State Representative
VACANT Governor Member
VACANT Governor Member
Tauchert, Patricia 08/20/2010 Senate President Member
Blackston, Elizabeth Attorney General Member Chief of the Consumer Fraud Bureau Sangamon
Pritchard, Bob House Minority Leader Member State Representative
Winkel, Richard 04/26/2010 Senate Minority Leader Member Champaign
Shepherdson, Nancy 02/06/2013 Governor Member Lake
VACANT Governor Governor's Designee Chair