Concealed Carry Licensing Review Board

Board and Commission Details


To consider any objection to an applicant's eligibility to obtain a license under this Act submitted by a law enforcement agency or the Department under Section 15 of this Act.


The terms of the commissioners appointed on or after the effective date of this amendatory Act of the 102nd General Assembly shall be as follows: one of the initial members shall be appointed for a term of one year, 3 shall be appointed for terms of 2 years, and 3 shall be appointed for terms of 4 years. Thereafter, the commissioners shall hold office for 4 years, with terms expiring on the second Monday in January of the fourth year. Commissioners may be reappointed. Vacancies in the office of commissioner shall be filled in the same manner as the original appointment, for the remainder of the unexpired term. The Governor may remove a commissioner for incompetence, neglect of duty, malfeasance, or inability to serve.

Senate Confirmation


Party Affiliation

No more than 4 commissioners shall be members of the same political party


3 commissioners residing within the First Judicial District and 1 commissioner residing within each of the 4 remaining Judicial Districts. The members shall have actual experience in law, education, social work, behavioral sciences, law enforcement, or community affairs or in a combination of those areas.


Equal to the Executive Ethics Commission


The Board shall consist of 7 commissioners to be appointed by the Governor, with the advice and consent of the Senate.


The Governor shall designate one commissioner as the Chairperson.


430 ILCS 66/20

Member Names

Name Member Expiration Member Since Affiliation Appointed By Position Title County
Johnson, Jon 01/10/2028 02/14/2022 Independent Governor Member 4th District Henry
DePodesta, Nancy 01/12/2026 02/14/2022 Independent Governor Member 2nd District Lake
Craft, Lionel R. 01/10/2028 02/14/2022 Democrat Governor Member 1st District Cook
Duffy, Joseph 01/10/2028 02/14/2022 Democrat Governor Member 1st District Cook
Wilkerson, Donald 01/12/2026 02/14/2022 Democrat Governor Chair 5th District Madison
Burnett-Zeigler, Inger 01/12/2026 02/14/2022 Democrat Governor Member 1st District Cook
Renno III, Ralph 01/11/2027 10/03/2022 Republican Governor Member 3rd District DuPage