Chicago State University Board of Trustees

Board and Commission Details

Contact Name

Stephany Spaulding

Contact E-Mail


The Board of Trustees governs, manages, and maintains Chicago State University including all its branches; employs education and administrative personnel; prescribes courses of study and sets fees.


6 years from 3rd Monday in January of odd-numbered years, until successor is appointed and qualified

Senate Confirmation


Party Affiliation

Yes, no more than 4 from the same political party


No member of board shall hold or be employed in or appointed to any office or place under the authority of the board, nor be an employee of state or federal government.




8 members: - 7 voting members appointed by Governor with advice and consent of the Senate - 1 voting student member until July 1 ; Student shall serve 1 year beginning July 1 of each year; Student member is selected by a campus-wide student referendum.


Elected by board


110 ILCS 660/5

Member Names

Name Member Expiration Member Since Affiliation Appointed By Position Title County
Vacant 01/15/2029 Governor Member
David, Angelique 01/20/2025 07/30/2021 Democrat Governor Member DuPage
Latimer, Nicole Statute Ex-Officio
Scott, Zaldwaynaka Statute Ex-Officio Chicago State University President
Smart, Essence 06/30/2022 07/01/2021 Student Body Vote Student Member
Thames, Cory 01/20/2025 09/08/2021 Democrat Governor Member Cook
Watkins, Cheryl 01/15/2029 03/28/2022 Democrat Governor Member Cook
Quiara, Jason 01/15/2029 03/28/2022 Independent Governor Member Cook
Zopp, Andrea 01/20/2025 05/07/2019 Democrat Governor Chair, Member Cook
Vacant 01/15/2029 Governor Secretary, Member