Workers' Compensation Commission

Board and Commission Details

Contact Name

Annette Roti

Contact Title

Chief of Staff

Contact E-Mail

Contact Comments

Secretary of the Commission is Ronald A. Rascia (312-814-4932) FOIA officer - Cole Garrett (312 814 6620) - Secretary of the Commission is Michele Kowalski (312-814-1545) FOIA Officer – Cecelia Kasmierski (312-814-6621)


The Commission administers Workers’ Compensation and Occupational Diseases Acts that provide compensation for accidental injuries or death suffered while employed in the state. Prior to making appointments to the Commission, the Governor shall request that the Advisory Board make recommendations as to candidates to consider for appointment and the Advisory Board may then make such recommendations. The Commission conducts hearings, issues decisions, and approves settlements of cases under the Illinois Workers' Compensation Commission Act and Occupational Diseases Act.


4 years, beginning 3rd Monday in January of staggered odd-numbered years, and until successor is appointed and qualified

Senate Confirmation


Party Affiliation

No more than 6 from same political party.


Must be licensed to practice law in the State of Illinois; or served as an arbitrator at the Illinois Workers' Compensation Commission for at least 3 years; or has at least 4 years of professional labor relations experience. Commissioners must devote full time to their duties and may not practice law nor hold an office or position of profit under any federal, state or municipal government, or any other political subdivision.


Chairperson, $$172,269 per year, plus expenses; Members, $$164,066 per year, plus expenses.


10 appointed by Governor - 3 employers operating under Workers’ Compensation Act (Business) - 3 employees covered by Act (Labor) - 4 not identified with employers or employees (Public) (1 to be designated as chairperson) Secretary, Assistant Secretary, and Arbitrators appointed by commission


Designated by the Governor: Chairman


820 ILCS 305/13

Member Names

Name Member Expiration Member Since Affiliation Appointed By Position Title County
Harris, Christopher 01/20/2025 03/19/2021 Democrat Governor Member, Public Cook
Brennan, Michael 01/18/2027 03/15/2019 Democrat Governor Chair, Public Cook
Parker, Marc 01/18/2027 03/15/2019 Democrat Governor Member, Labor Madison
Wesley, Raychel A. 01/20/2025 02/13/2024 Democrat Governor Member, Labor Will
Simonovich, Amylee Hogan 01/18/2027 04/21/2023 Independent Governor Member, Labor DuPage
Doherty, Carolyn 01/20/2025 10/04/2021 Independent Governor Member, Public DuPage
Simpson, Deborah 01/20/2025 03/06/2017 Republican Governor Member, Business Kane
Doerries, Kathryn 01/18/2027 09/23/2019 Republican Governor Member, Business DuPage
Mathis, Stephen 01/20/2025 02/10/2017 Republican Governor Member, Business Sangamon
Portela, Maria 01/18/2027 03/15/2019 Independent Governor Member, Public Cook