Weatherization Initiative Board

Board and Commission Details

Contact Name

Carmen Colvin

Contact Phone

(312) 814-2346

Contact E-Mail

Contact Comments

Senior Public Service Administrator, Department of Commerce and Economic Opportunity


The Board must approve or deny all grants from the Build Illinois Bond Fund. A quorum of the Board is at least 3 voting members, and the affirmative vote of at least 3 voting members is required for Board decisions and adoption of rules. DCEO shall provide staff and administrative assistance to the Board. By December 31 of each year, the Board shall file an annual report with the Governor and the General Assembly concerning the Initiative, grants awarded, and grantees and making recommendations for any changes needed to enhance the effectiveness of the Initiative.


5-year terms after initial appointments. Initial Appointments: 1-one year term, 1-two year term, 1-three year term, 1-four year term and 1-five year term.

Senate Confirmation


Party Affiliation





The Board shall consist of 5 voting members appointed by the Governor with the advice and consent of the Senate. The initial members shall have terms as follows as designated by the Governor: one for one year, one for 2 years, one for 3 years, one for 4 years, and one for 5 years, or until a successor is appointed and qualified. Thereafter, members shall serve 5-year terms or until a successor is appointed and qualified. The Board shall also have 4 non-voting ex officio members appointed as follows: one Representative appointed by the Speaker of the House, one Representative appointed by the House Minority Leader, one Senator appointed by the President of the Senate, and one Senator appointed by the Senate Minority Leader,


The voting members shall elect a voting member to serve as chair for a one-year term.


30 ILCS 738/40‑40

Member Names

Name Member Expiration Member Since Affiliation Appointed By Position Title County
Harrington, Deborah 02/19/2014 03/05/2010 Governor Member Cook
VACANT President of the Senate Ex-Officio State Senator
VACANT Speaker of the House Ex-Officio State Representative
Wordlaw, Robert 02/19/2018 05/25/2015 Governor Member Cook
VACANT Governor Member
VACANT House Minority Leader Ex-Officio State Representative
Perez, Jorge 02/19/2017 05/25/2015 Governor Member Cook
Bailey, Darren 04/06/2021 Senate Minority Leader Ex-Officio State Senator
Harris, Percy 02/19/2016 03/05/2010 Governor Chair, Member St. Clair