Clean Energy Community Foundation, Illinois

Board and Commission Details

Contact Name

Dennis O’Brien

Contact Title

Executive Director, Clean Energy Community Foundation of Illinois

Contact Phone


Contact E-Mail


This is a private foundation organized under the Illinois Non-Profit Corporation Act and recognized under the Federal Internal Revenue Code. The Foundation was entirely funded by ComEd with $225 million in 1999 to provide financial assistance for projects that help improve energy efficiency, develop renewable energy resources and to protect natural areas and wildlife habitat. Since its inception in December of 1999, the Foundation has been drawing down on those funds and their earnings to make over 4,700 grants, resulting in over $255 million being awarded to Illinois non-profit organizations, schools, municipalities and other local government agencies.


5 years, and until successor is appointed and qualified

Senate Confirmation



Up to $20,000 plus expenses for members, up to $25,000 plus expenses for chairman (if serving as board members, members of General Assembly and electric utility are not compensated)


6 Voting Members (Governor also names Chair) - 1 appointed by Governor - 1 appointed by Senate President - 1 appointed by Senate Minority Leader - 1 appointed by Speaker of the House - 1 appointed by House Minority Leader - 1 appointed by the electric utility establishing the foundation; 5 Ex-officio non-voting members: - 1 appointed by Director of DCEO - 1 appointed by Director of IEPA - 1 appointed by Director of DNR - 2 appointed by the electric utility establishing the foundation


Designated by Governor, and serves at the Pleasure of the Governor from among the voting members


220 ILCS 5/16-111.1

Member Names

Name Member Expiration Member Since Affiliation Appointed By Position Title County
Seals Jr., Anton 12/21/2024 12/18/2023 Speaker of the House Chair Cook
Phelps Finnie, Natalie Statute Ex-Officio, IDNR
Richards, Kristin Statute Ex-Officio, Director of DCEO
Kruse, Chad 03/13/2019 Statute Ex-Officio, IEPA
McDermott, John 12/05/2024 12/05/2014 House Minority Leader Member Will
Bold, Rachel 12/28/2020 Senate Minority Leader Member Cook
Murphy, Patricia Joan 12/31/2024 08/03/2021 President of the Senate Member Cook
Pino, Juliana 12/21/2024 12/14/2023 Governor Member, Chair Cook
Adelman, Jerry 12/21/2014 ComEd Member Cook
Dugan, Lisa ComEd Ex-Officio
Novak, J. Phillip Com-Ed Ex-Officio