Commerce Commission, Illinois

Board and Commission Details

Contact Name

Jonathan Feipel

Contact Title

Executive Director

Contact E-Mail


The Commission regulates public utilities and intrastate motor carriers; sets some rates of electric, natural gas, telephone, water and sewer companies; licenses household goods movers and relocation towing companies; inspects railroad crossings and tracks as well as rail cars carrying hazardous materials.


5 years, expiring 3rd Monday of January in staggered years or until successor is appointed and qualified

Senate Confirmation


Party Affiliation

No more than 3 from same political party


Must serve on full-time basis and may not hold other salaried employment or public office. No employees, officials, or stockholders of corporations regulated by commission, or persons subject to commission regulation.


Chairman, $151,240 per year; Commissioners, $132,080 per year


5 appointed by Governor, confirmed by the Senate.


Designated by the Governor


220 ILCS 5/2-101

Member Names

Name Member Expiration Member Since Affiliation Appointed By Position Title County
Paradis, Stacey 01/17/2028 04/03/2023 Republican Governor Member Cook
McCabe, Ann 01/18/2027 02/01/2022 Republican Governor Commissioner Cook
Carrigan, Michael 01/20/2025 01/31/2020 Democrat Governor Member Macon
Reddick, Conrad 01/17/2028 03/13/2023 Democrat Governor Member DuPage
Scott, Douglas P. 01/15/2029 06/17/2023 Democrat Governor Chair Winnebago