Torture Inquiry and Relief Commission, Illinois

Board and Commission Details

Contact Title

Executive Director


The Commission shall have the following duties and powers: (1) To establish the criteria and screening process to be used to determine which cases shall be accepted for review. (2) To conduct inquiries into claims of torture with priority to be given to those cases in which the convicted person is currently incarcerated solely for the crime to which he or she claims torture by Jon Burge or officers under his command, or both. (3) To coordinate the investigation of cases accepted for review. (4) To maintain records for all case investigations. (5) To prepare written reports outlining Commission investigations and recommendations to the trial court at the completion of each inquiry. (6) To apply for and accept any funds that may become available for the Commission's work from government grants, private gifts, donations, or bequests from any source.


1, 2, or 3 years terms will be assigned. Members of the Commission shall serve no more than 2 consecutive 3-year terms plus any initial term of less than 3 years. All terms of members shall begin on January 1 and end on December 31.

Senate Confirmation





The Commission shall consist of 8 voting members: (1) One shall be a retired Circuit Court Judge (2) One shall be a former prosecuting attorney (3) One shall be a law school professor (4) One shall be engaged in the practice of criminal defense law (5) Three shall be members of the public who are not attorneys and who are not officers or employees of the Judicial branch (6) One shall be a former public defender. * The members of the Commission shall be appointed by the Governor, with the advice and consent of the Senate. Members may be re-appointed for additional terms. *The Governor shall also appoint alternate Commission members for the Commission members he or she has appointed to serve in the event of scheduling conflicts, conflicts of interest, disability, or other disqualification arising in a particular case. * The Illinois Human Rights Commission shall provide, directly or through any other State agency, office space for the Commission and the Commission staff


The retired judge who is appointed as a member shall serve as Chair of the Commission


775 ILCS 40/15

Member Names

Name Member Expiration Member Since Affiliation Appointed By Position Title County
Block, Steven 12/31/2024 03/26/2021 Governor Member, Former prosecuting attorney Cook
Bedi, Shelia A. 12/31/2023 04/28/2023 Governor Alternate, Law school professor Cook
Maliza, Johanes 12/31/2023 05/17/2022 Governor Member, Former public defender Cook
Richardson, Brian 12/31/2025 04/19/2024 Governor Member, Public Cook
Moragne-Patterson, Yanajaha Kafi 12/31/2025 03/24/2023 Governor Member, Public Cook
Burden, Linnet 12/31/2025 06/09/2023 Governor Member, Public Cook
Zunkel, Erica 12/31/2024 07/08/2022 Governor Member, Criminal Defense Attorney
Del Valle, Vanessa 12/31/2026 04/28/2023 Governor Member, Law school professor Cook
Strom, Michael Alan 12/31/2024 06/03/2024 Governor Retired Circuit Court Judge Cook
Vacant Governor Alternate; Public
Walton, Tameka 12/31/2025 04/19/2024 Governor Alternate; Public Cook
Fenske, Daniel 12/31/2025 05/09/2022 Governor Alternate; Criminal defense attorney Lake
Robinson, Natasha 12/31/2023 09/02/2022 Governor Alternate; Former public defender Cook
Kaplan, Bennett 12/31/2024 03/07/2022 Governor Alternate, Former prosecuting attorney Cook
Vacant Governor Alternate, Retired Circuit Court Judge
Vacant Governor Alternate; Public