Conservation Foundation, Illinois

Board and Commission Details

Contact Name

Steve Ettinger

Contact Title

Executive Director

Contact E-Mail


The Foundation is directed to promote, support, assist, sustain, and encourage the charitable, educational, scientific, and recreational programs, projects, and policies of the Department of Natural Resources (formerly Department of Conservation); solicits and accepts aid or contributions consistent with stated intent of donor and goals of foundation; accepts grants for acquisition, construction, improvement, and development of potential foundation projects; solicits and generates private funding and donations that assist in enhancing and preserving Illinois’ natural habitats, historic sites, river and stream corridors, state parks, forests, and fish and wildlife areas; engages generally in other lawful endeavors consistent with forgoing purposes. Foundation shall operate within provisions of General Not For Profit Corporation Act of 1986.



Senate Confirmation





12 members: - 2 appointed by President of Senate - 2 appointed by Senate Minority Leader - 2 appointed by Speaker of the House - 2 appointed by House Minority Leader - 4 appointed by Governor; -Vacancies shall be filled by official who made recommendation for vacated appointment


Director of DNR


20 ILCS 880/1

Member Names

Name Member Expiration Member Since Affiliation Appointed By Position Title County
Phelps Finnie, Natalie Statute Chair Director, Dept. of Natural Resources
Russell, Robert C. 01/30/1995 Senate Minority Leader Member Sangamon
Ruffolo, Michael A. 03/11/2013 Speaker of the House Member Will
Troutt, William 06/13/2022 Governor Member Cook
Katlin, Andrew 10/12/2012 Governor Member Cook
VACANT Governor Member
Cullerton, William F. 04/03/2009 Speaker of the House Member Cook
Banks, Tripp 07/19/2018 President of the Senate Member Lake
Yilk, Scott 02/23/2024 House Minority Leader Member
Wanless, Michael 12/02/2020 Senate Minority Leader Member Sangamon
Hillstrom, Mike 07/19/2018 President of the Senate Member Kane
Bennett, Thomas 10/03/2017 House Minority Leader Member Livingston
Anderson, Ryan 04/12/2013 Governor Member Kane