Education, State Board of

Board and Commission Details

Contact Name

Tony Sanders

Contact Title

State Superintendent of Education, Illinois State Board of Education

Contact E-Mail


The board sets educational policies and guidelines for public and private schools, preschool through grade 12, as well as vocational education. It analyzes the aims, needs and requirements of education and recommends legislation to the General Assembly and Governor for the benefit of the more than 2 million school children in Illinois.


4 years, from 2nd Wednesday of January of odd-numbered years, until successor is appointed and qualified. No member may be appointed to more than 2 4-year terms.

Senate Confirmation


Party Affiliation

No more than 5 members from one political party - no more than 2 at large members.


Board shall determine qualifications of and appoint a chief education officer to be known as State Superintendent of Education, who serves at pleasure of board except that no contract issued shall be for a term longer than 3 years.


Expenses, plus $50 per day of the meeting


9 members, appointed by Governor - 2 appointees from among counties of the state other than Cook County, and the 5 counties contiguous toCook County. - 2 appointees selected from Cook County, one of whom shall be a resident of Chicago, and one of whom shall be a resident of that part of Cook County which lies outside city limits of Chicago - 2 appointees shall be selected from the 5 counties of the state contiguous to Cook County - 3 members shall be selected as members-at-large – ONE SHALL BE CHAIR - at least 1 at-large member must expire 1/07 & 1/09


Appointed by the Governor with Senate confirmation


105 ILCS 5/1A-1

Member Names

Name Member Expiration Member Since Affiliation Appointed By Position Title County
Anderson, James D. 01/13/2027 01/18/2023 Independent Governor Member Champaign
Gonzalez, Laura L. 01/13/2027 07/21/2023 Democrat Governor Member Kendall
Isoye, Steven 01/13/2027 09/16/2022 Democrat Governor Chair Cook
Benson, Christine 01/08/2025 02/25/2019 Democrat Governor Member LaSalle
Eddy, Roger 01/08/2025 02/25/2021 Republican Governor Member Crawford
Grassellino, Anna 01/08/2025 01/13/2023 Independent Governor Member Kane
Nugent, Patricia Marie 01/13/2027 01/23/2023 Independent Governor Member Peoria
Simpson-Leak, Donna 01/13/2027 02/25/2019 Democrat Governor Member Cook
Chavarria, Sherly 01/08/2025 06/26/2023 Independent Governor Member Cook