Educational Labor Relations Board

Board and Commission Details

Contact Name

Victor Blackwell; Meredith Dean; Lara Shayne

Contact Title

Executive Director;CFO; Chair

Contact E-Mail;;


The Board administers Educational Labor Relations Act that gives educators rights to organize and bargains collectively; promulgates regulations for bargaining units and representation elections; may invoke mediation in unresolved labor disputes; investigates charges of unfair labor practices.


6 years, and until successor is appointed.

Senate Confirmation


Party Affiliation

No more than 3 from the same political party


The Governor shall appoint to the Board only persons who are residents of Illinois and have had a minimum of 5 years of experience directly related to labor and employment relations in representing educational employers or educational employees in collective bargaining matters. Each member shall devote his entire time to the duties of the office, and shall hold no other office or position of profit, nor engage in any other business, employment or vocation.


Chairman, $117,765 per year; Members, $105,992 per year


5 members appointed by Governor - Chairman to be designated by Governor - 3 members constitute a quorum


Designated by the Governor at the time of appointment


115 ILCS 5/5

Member Names

Name Member Expiration Member Since Affiliation Appointed By Position Title County
Shayne, Lara 06/01/2026 02/26/2021 Democrat Governor Chair Cook
VACANT 06/01/2028 Governor Member
Hays, Chad 06/01/2026 01/04/2021 Republican Governor Member Vermilion
Grossman, Steven 06/01/2026 03/01/2021 Democrat Governor Member Cook
Ishmael, Michelle 06/01/2028 03/01/2021 Democrat Governor Member Sangamon