Elections, State Board of

Board and Commission Details

Contact Name

Amy Calvin

Contact Title

Administrative Assistant III

Contact Phone


Contact E-Mail



The Board administers registrations and election laws; publishes election results and other information; keeps required statements of political campaign contributions and expenditures.


4 years, beginning July 1 of staggered odd-numbered years, and until successor is appointed. Governor must send letter of appointment to Senate president by April 1.

Senate Confirmation



Extensive knowledge of election laws in Illinois. Four to be affiliated with same political party as Governor, and 4 to be affiliated with political party whose nominee for Governor in most recent general election received second highest number of votes, from a list of nominees submitted by the first state executive officer in the order indicated herein affiliated with such political party: Attorney General, Secretary of State, Comptroller and Treasurer.


Chair, $65,949; Vice Chair, $54,172; Members, $$42,398 per year, plus expenses


8 members appointed by Governor with advice and consent of the Senate - 4 residents of Cook County - 4 residents of State outside Cook County - Executive Director and Assistant Executive Director appointed by board - Chairman elected by board members for 2-year terms, alternating parties,


Elected by the Board for 2-year terms, alternating parties


10 ILCS 5/1A-1

Member Names

Name Member Expiration Member Since Affiliation Appointed By Position Title County
Terven, Rick 06/30/2025 07/01/2021 Democrat Governor Member Sangamon
McRory Rossmiller, Catherine 06/30/2025 07/01/2021 Republican Governor Member Cook
Donahue, Laura Kent 06/30/2027 07/01/2019 Republican Governor Member Vice Chair Adams
Vrett, Jack 06/30/2027 07/01/2023 Governor Member Cook
Ballard Croft, Jennifer 06/30/2027 07/01/2023 Democrat Governor Member Cook
Genovese, Tonya 06/30/2027 10/25/2021 Democrat Governor Member Madison
Cray, Cristina 06/30/2025 04/24/2023 Republican Governor Member Sangamon
Watson, Casandra B. 06/30/2025 07/01/2013 Democrat Governor Chair Cook