State Universities Retirement System Board of Trustees

Board and Commission Details

Contact Name

Suzanne Mayer

Contact Title

Executive Director, Board of Trustees, State Universities Retirement System

Contact E-Mail


The Board administers State Universities Retirement System that provides annuities to faculty and nonacademic employees of state universities and colleges, Class 1 community colleges, scientific surveys, and other related agencies.


After an initial period of staggered terms consisting of either 3 year or 6 year terms, terms for the trustees shall be 6 years.

Senate Confirmation


Party Affiliation



See composition




11 trustees as follows: - Chair of Higher Education - 4 trustees appointed by the Governor, who are not members of the system, who shall not hold an elected state office. The term of an appointed trustee shall terminate immediately upon becoming a member of the system or being sworn into an elective State office, and the position shall be considered to be vacant - 4 participating employees who are active participants elected by active participants (max. 2 from U of I) - 2 annuitant trustees elected by annuitants (max. 1 from U of I)


Appointed by the Governor from among the trustees


40 ILCS 5/15‑159

Member Names

Name Member Expiration Member Since Affiliation Appointed By Position Title County
Weisbenner, Scott 07/01/2027 07/01/2021 Statute Member, Contributing Member Trustee Champaign
Bodnaruk, Andriy 07/01/2027 07/01/2021 Statute Member, Contributing Member Trustee Cook
Vacant 01/31/2025 08/02/2019 Statute Chair of the Board of Higher Education Chair Cook
Vogel, Mitchell 07/01/2021 08/01/2019 Statute Member, Annuitant Trustee Cook
Rock, Steven 07/01/2024 07/15/2015 Statute Member, Contributing Member Trustee McDonough
Van Meter, Collin 07/01/2024 07/01/2018 Statute Member, Contributing Member Trustee Madison
Lyons, John 07/01/2024 03/29/2019 Governor Member, Chair Lake
Giertz, Fred 07/01/2021 07/01/2015 Statute Member, Annuitant Trustee Champaign
Hendrie, Scott 07/01/2027 03/10/2020 Governor Member Champaign
Figueroa, Richard 07/01/2027 04/05/2019 Governor Member Cook
Flaherty, Jamie-Clare 06/29/2024 03/29/2019 Governor Member Cook