Executive Ethics Commission

Board and Commission Details

Contact Name

Michelle Casey

Contact Title

Executive Director

Contact Phone


Contact E-Mail



The Executive Ethics Commission shall have jurisdiction over all officers and employees of the state agencies other than the General Assembly, the Senate Operations Commission, the Legislative support services agencies, and the Office of the Auditor General.


4 years, commencing on July 1 of the appointment year and concluding June 30 of the 4th year

Senate Confirmation


Party Affiliation

No more than 5 commissioners may be of the same political party


Experience holding governmental office/employment or from the general public. Not eligible if candidate has been convicted of a felony or a crime of dishonesty or moral turpitude, is or was in the last year engaged in activities that required registration under the Lobbyist Registration Act, is related to the appointed authority, is a state officer or employee, is or becomes a candidate for any elective office , holds any other elected or appointed public office (except advisory boards or study commission), be actively involved in the affairs of any political party or organization, or actively participate in any campaign for any elective office.


$42,398 annually


9 Commissioners: 5 Commissioners appointed by the Governor; 1 Appointed by the Attorney General; 1 Appointed by the Secretary of State; 1 Appointed by the Comptroller; 1 Appointed by the Treasurer.


Elected by the Commission


5 ILCS 430/20-5

Member Names

Name Member Expiration Member Since Affiliation Appointed By Position Title County
Rioja, Amalia 06/30/2024 04/30/2018 Democrat Comptroller Member Cook
Welter, David Allen 06/30/2027 07/31/2023 Republican Governor Member Grundy
Schuh, Patricia 06/30/2024 07/15/2020 Republican Attorney General Secretary Sangamon
Turner, Walter 06/30/2024 07/01/2016 Democrat Treasurer Member Cook
Powers, Allison 06/30/2024 03/07/2022 Democrat Governor Member Cook
Ervin, Cynthia 06/30/2027 08/23/2019 Republican Governor Member Sangamon
Yadgir, Patricia 06/30/2027 08/19/2019 Independent Governor Member DuPage
Kuzas, Maria 06/30/2024 02/26/2009 Democrat Secretary of State Member Cook
Vacant Governor Member